Bacon – is it better for you than tilapia?!?

I’ve taken a course on nutrition in culinary school, and I read most articles about food and nutrition that come my way, whether via online newspapers, sites like SparkPeople, or in hardcopy publications (which I really only read during my commute!). As a result, I consider myself fairly knowledgeable (though far from expert) about nutrition topics, so the email from NutritionData caught me off guard: “Tilapia worse for you than bacon?”

Naturally, that was the hook, and “the Nutritionista” who writes the ND Blog goes on to pick apart a study that compares inflammatory potential of various foods and by a tortuous path ends up with this statement about tilapia and bacon. But this was a reminder to me that putting nutritional information on recipes is a great idea, particularly for those who are label readers. And clearly, if current trends continue, we may soon see nutrition information in all restaurants – it will be interesting to see the fallout from the requirements that fast-food places do so: will people make better choices? will they read the label and ignore the message? or will they close their eyes as well as their ears and continue to make unwise choices?

In any case, I do hope to gradually introduce nutritional information for this site, and in spite of the Nutritionista’s conclusions and in celebration of the much-maligned bacon, I did some quick calculations via the NutritionData site to acquire this information for my Stirfried Bacon with Okra recipe:

  • Calories 112, fat calories 67
  • Total fat 7 g, saturated fat 2 g
  • Cholesterol 12 mg
  • Sodium 512 mg
  • Carbs 9 g, dietary fiber 4 g, sugars 1 g
  • Protein 5 g

Please note that I consider each recipe to serve 4 as part of a larger meal, and this is for 1 serving. I used the nutritional info for cooking wine, as Shaoxing wine is not yet listed as one of ND’s pantry ingredients.

I’m a huge proponent of the “everything in moderation” approach to eating, so to me these figures are totally acceptable, particularly if you serve this dish with plenty of brown rice and another alternative that is a bit lower in fat and sodium.

So look for more nutritional data in recipe posts soon, use the information wisely, and most importantly ENJOY YOUR FOOD!

Leave a Reply

